Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

May 28, 2018

Devotion to the Sacred Heart


Enthronement of the Sacred Heart is a ceremony performed by a priest[1] in which an image or statue of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is set up in a place of honor and blessed and the home is consecrated to the same.


The purpose of this ceremony is to give due honor to Jesus Christ as the King of the Universe and King of your families and homes.

               It consists in honoring Jesus as King and making reparation for those who don’t.


From “Devotion to the Sacred Heart” by Fr. John Croiser, S.J. (1691)

The object and the principal motive of this devotion is…the immense love which Jesus Christ has for men who, for the most part, have nothing but contempt or at least indifference for Him. The end which is proposed is, firstly, to recognize and honor as much as lies in our power by our frequent adoration, by a return of love, by our acts of thanksgiving and by every kind of homage, all the sentiments of tender love which Jesus Christ has for us in the adorable Sacrament of the Blessed Eucharist, where, however, He is so little known by men, or at least so little loved even by these people who know Him; secondly, to make reparation, by all possible means, for the indignities and outrages to which His love has exposed Him during the course of His mortal life, and to which this same love exposes Him every day in the Blessed Sacrament of the altar.[2]


The 12 Promises of Jesus to all those who honor the Sacred Heart of Jesus


(1) I will give them all the graces necessary in their state of life.


(2) I will establish peace in their homes.


(3) I will comfort them in all their afflictions.


(4) I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all, in death.


(5) I will bestow abundant blessings upon all their undertakings.


(6) Sinners will find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.


(7) Lukewarm souls shall become fervent.


(8) Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.


(9) I will bless every place in which an image of my Heart is exposed and honored.


10) I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.


(11) Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in my Heart.


(12) I promise you in the excessive mercy of my Heart that my all-powerful love will grant to all those who receive Holy Communion on the First Fridays in nine consecutive months the grace of final perseverance; they shall not die in my disgrace, nor without receiving their sacraments. My divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment.


This devotion consists in the enthronement ceremony and praying before His image. Also, the following are some recommended practices:


  1. To receive Holy Communion in reparation for the sacrileges of those who receive in mortal sin
    1. This is best done on First Fridays and is in keeping with the 12th promise
    2. In order for this promise to take effect a person must be in the state of grace (that is, free from any mortal sin since their last good confession and he/she must obey the Church’s law on fasting from food and drink for one hour before receiving)
  2. To recite the Litany of the Sacred Heart especially on First Fridays
  3. Reciting the Act of Reparation to the Sacred Heart[3]
  4. Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament in reparation
  5. Pray the Stations of the Cross
  6. Nocturnal Adoration in the home
    1. Praying for an hour in the home between 9 pm and 6 am
  7. Unite your sufferings to His


Examples of those who kept the First Fridays and received the promise:

  1. The girls in Chile whose bus turned over but were given the last rites by a priest traveling behind them
  2. The man in the hospital for five days who was visited five times by priests and the Bishop
  3. The woman who asked St. Therese for a sign that her son who kept the devotion was in heaven and who received roses as a sign of confirmation





[1] This ceremony can be done by the father of the family as the spiritual head in the case a priest is unavailable.

[2] This entire book can be accessed in web format at:

[3] See the above website for the prayer of reparation